Coffeehouse for desis
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

kamila shamsie

Go down

kamila shamsie Empty kamila shamsie

Post by Guest Wed Dec 14, 2011 12:47 pm

i chanced upon this article by following sundeep dougal on twitter (and i visit my twitter page once in 6 months) and the reason i clicked sundeep's link was 'cos it was thru chat and thru charvaka that i became aware of kamila shamsie. here's a nice piece by her on agha shahid ali. it is nice, but, regrettably, it is also a lot of bluster. i have not read shamsie, save her net articles, and i do think that she should not write at all. all as a reader. i'm not a prof or a writer -- but readers too have sensibilities.

http://www.urdustudies.com/pdf/17/06_Shamsie.pdf

Back to top Go down

kamila shamsie Empty Re: kamila shamsie

Post by .|Sublime|. Wed Dec 14, 2011 1:40 pm

I have not read this article that you posted. I will read it later.
But I have read Shamsie's 'Burnt Shadows' and I was captivated by her writing style. I read this quite a while back and from what I remember there is a soft, lyrical quality to her writing.
Why do you say that she should not be writing at all?

.|Sublime|.

Back to top Go down

Post by Guest Wed Dec 14, 2011 2:06 pm

.|Sublime|. wrote:Why do you say that she should not be writing at all?

writing requires a bit of honesty for honesty is appealing (beyond the appeal of lyricism in language). i did not find it in her article about india-pak relations in one article. i did not find it in this article. and in yet another article that i forget. but if you are utterly captivated by "burnt shadows," i don't mind giving it a try. it is the same bok that charvaka (rather, his wife) recommended. i think i will. i will read it and comment upon it here.

Back to top Go down

Post by Guest Wed Dec 14, 2011 11:34 pm

Huzefa Kapasi wrote: it is the same bok that charvaka (rather, his wife) recommended.