Coffeehouse for desis
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Idée fixe

+7
Impedimenta
ashaNirasha
charvaka
Propagandhi711
doofus_maximus
SomeProfile
Hellsangel
11 posters

Go down

Idée fixe Empty Idée fixe

Post by Hellsangel Tue May 10, 2011 2:35 pm

An idée fixe is a preoccupation of mind held so firmly as to resist any attempt to modify it, a fixation. The name originates from the French [French : idée, idea + fixe, fixed]. Although not used technically to denote a particular disorder in psychology, idée fixe is used often in the description of disorders, and is employed widely in literature and everyday English.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Id%C3%A9e_fixe_%28psychology%29
Hellsangel
Hellsangel

Back to top Go down

Idée fixe Empty Re: Idée fixe

Post by SomeProfile Tue May 10, 2011 2:50 pm

I also like the way the French think.

I have a PhD in Cognitive Neuroscience (concentration: Language Acquisition and Neurogenesis) but it is a little known fact that the French are able to process phonemes, the smallest unit of speech that form meaning, in an exquisite way that bypasses the motor cortex and traditional 'language centres' in the brain that are normally used to formulate and utter coherent sentences/languages. Neuroscientists and psychologists are still trying to unravel the mystery, with current researchers trying to further map the neuron-matrix in the lobes of the brain that deal with language in more detail.

Fascinating. It has me stumped!

Source: Lifted directly from this esteemed master troll.

SomeProfile

Back to top Go down

Post by doofus_maximus Tue May 10, 2011 2:54 pm

SomeProfile wrote:I also like the way the French think.

Source: Lifted directly from this esteemed master troll.

uppli in all his glory...
doofus_maximus
doofus_maximus

Back to top Go down

Post by Propagandhi711 Tue May 10, 2011 3:17 pm