Coffeehouse for desis
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Qostin

2 posters

Go down

Qostin Empty Qostin

Post by Marathadi-Saamiyaar Sun Aug 10, 2014 1:01 pm

Reading about Smriti Irani, the Yale-educated minister, a thought occurred to me.

People, especially desis, are known to exaggerate their qualifications sky-high and blatantly lie about their degrees and claim degrees and now routines claim (MBA), (PhD) behind their names.

But, is it lying if one does not mention their degrees or exaggerate their job position?

I have four different (at least) business cards and only one has true credentials - ironically that is the one I have never used. If at all, I use only the other 3 cards. When in India, I never tell what I do for a living - be it govt office, police, banks or airlines. Mostly, I will be a a high school teacher or a shop floor supervisor or work in IBM...depending on the situation and whether I am in a Veshti, lungi or jeans/pants. Of course, the only agenda here is to protect information about myself from unnecessary people.

Marathadi-Saamiyaar

Back to top Go down

Qostin Empty Re: Qostin

Post by confuzzled dude Sun Aug 10, 2014 1:20 pm

Marathadi-Saamiyaar wrote:
People, especially desis, are known to exaggerate their qualifications sky-high and blatantly lie about their degrees and claim degrees
If you mean exaggerating on the resume, that's just not Desi trait everyone in the US does it
and now routines claim (MBA), (PhD) behind their names.
must be one of those lingering colonial habits.

confuzzled dude

Back to top Go down

Post by Marathadi-Saamiyaar Sun Aug 10, 2014 1:26 pm

confuzzled dude wrote:
People, especially desis, are known to exaggerate their qualifications sky-high and blatantly lie about their degrees and claim degrees
If you mean exaggerating on the resume, that's just not Desi trait everyone in the US does it