Coffeehouse for desis
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Cry my beloved science, cry my beloved country

+5
pravalika nanda
MaxEntropy_Man
Merlot Daruwala
bw
confuzzled dude
9 posters

Go down

Cry my beloved science, cry my beloved country Empty Cry my beloved science, cry my beloved country

Post by confuzzled dude Tue Jan 06, 2015 12:03 am

I have been a research scientist for the past 35 years and seen the movement of the country from secular, forward looking nationalist with a slight inferior complex to a disproportionately aggressive country demanding attention out of tune with its demonstrated capabilities in science.

Today, as never before, science in India has reasons to cry. Why this sense of gloom? Under the Nehruvian era that is being systematically removed in today’s India, one of the axioms was that technology and forward outlook to its utilisation was the way to the future.
The ranting of the ultra-nationalists who seem to think that a lie repeated a thousand times becomes truth – does no good to their professed desire to have Indian scientific achievements appropriately recognised. It also does not help the conventional scientists who feel hounded by these fringe elements. Even on forums for rational evaluation of past sciences, they feel squeezed out by some shrill voices.