Coffeehouse for desis
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

What do Rashmun and KV think about this?

5 posters

Go down

What do Rashmun and  KV think about this? Empty What do Rashmun and KV think about this?

Post by Rishi Mon Jul 08, 2013 4:18 pm

http://www.thehindu.com/news/cities/chennai/chennai-woman-in-the-drivers-seat-and-in-control-of-their-lives/article4892374.ece

So, why drive an auto when you can take up part-time jobs in offices? “I would like to do that sometime, but I cannot speak English. I barely understand the language because I studied in Tamil medium,” she says.

Rishi

Back to top Go down

What do Rashmun and  KV think about this? Empty Re: What do Rashmun and KV think about this?

Post by Marathadi-Saamiyaar Mon Jul 08, 2013 4:54 pm

Rishi wrote:http://www.thehindu.com/news/cities/chennai/chennai-woman-in-the-drivers-seat-and-in-control-of-their-lives/article4892374.ece

So, why drive an auto when you can take up part-time jobs in offices? “I would like to do that sometime, but I cannot speak English. I barely understand the language because I studied in Tamil medium,” she says.

Was watching a TV program where they had college/young guys on one side and parents and teachers on another.

The youth were telling how they are under pressure at school, work and home to speak only in English to make them more saleable. The older generation was almost unanimous in justifying English only policy at home and school.

Was amazed....the Pro-English (only) sentiment in TN (and in South). Hindi would get better support than Tamil in TN as of today (KV does not know anything).

Marathadi-Saamiyaar

Back to top Go down

What do Rashmun and  KV think about this? Empty Re: What do Rashmun and KV think about this?

Post by Guest Mon Jul 08, 2013 5:29 pm

Rishi wrote:http://www.thehindu.com/news/cities/chennai/chennai-woman-in-the-drivers-seat-and-in-control-of-their-lives/article4892374.ece