Coffeehouse for desis
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

The 4 Fruits in Life per Hanuman Chlisa?

Go down

The 4 Fruits in Life per Hanuman Chlisa? Empty The 4 Fruits in Life per Hanuman Chlisa?

Post by TruthSeeker Fri Sep 14, 2018 12:07 am

The opening verse talks of 4 fruits in life.

shrī guru charana saroja raja, nija mana mukuru sudhāri।
baranau raghuvara bimala jasu, jo dāyaku phala chāri॥


Cleansing the mirror in the form of my mind with the pollen of the lotus-feet of the Guru, I describe the unblemished glory of Rama, which bestows the four fruits.

What 4 fruits?

Dharma, Artha (Meaning of life? or is it Economy?), Kaama (Desires, eh?), Moksha.

Per Wiki:

Gita Press translation interprets the four fruits as the four Puruṣārthas – Dharma, Artha, Kāma, and Mokṣa. Rambhadracharya comments that the four fruits refer to any of the following
[list="margin-top: 0.3em; margin-right: 0px; margin-left: 3.2em; padding-right: 0px; padding-left: 0px; list-style-image: none; color: rgb(34, 34, 34); font-family: sans-serif; font-size: 14px; background-color: rgb(255, 255, 255);"]
[*]The four Puruṣārthas – Dharma, Artha, Kāma, Mokṣa

[*]The four types of Mukti – Sālokya, Sāmīpya, Sāyujya, Sārūpya

[*]Dharma, Jñāna, Yoga, Japa


Interesting, as one digs deeper.

Its kind of crazy that 4 fruits of life includes Kaam, in the same way as a lot of other teachings in Hinduism talk about - Krodh, Moh, Kaam, and Maya - with negativity.

Need to learn about these 4 fruits further.


Posts : 1508
Join date : 2012-08-18

Back to top Go down

Back to top

- Similar topics

Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum