Coffeehouse for desis
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

The buzz about God..well, Higgs boson particle

+2
indophile
Maria S
6 posters

Go down

The buzz about God..well, Higgs boson particle Empty The buzz about God..well, Higgs boson particle

Post by Maria S Thu Jul 05, 2012 8:43 am

It is kind of exciting..even for a Non-Physicist and a believer in the Divine, like me! But it has rekindled some old interest in Physics.

Having said that..still think many mysteries of the Universe will still remain the same (duh!).

Will keep an open-mind..and wait to see the illusive particle, like the missing link:)

http://io9.com/5923494/what-todays-higgs-boson-discovery-really-means?popular=true

Excerpt:

"If you were to say July 4, 2012 was the day the Higgs boson was officially discovered, you wouldn't really be wrong. As CERN Director General Rolf Heuer put it, "As a layman, I think we have it." That's about as unequivocal a statement as you're likely to get from CERN, which is understandably conservative when it comes to announcing possible physics-shattering discoveries. But then, there's a second half to Heuer's quote, one that probably won't get as much attention: "But as a scientist, I have to say, 'What do we have?'" That's a huge question, one that won't be answered today, maybe not this year. Today's announcement is just the beginning of the Higgs story, definitely not the end.

Another nice link:

http://io9.com/5905897/the-webcomic-guide-to-the-higgs-boson
Maria S
Maria S

Back to top Go down

The buzz about God..well, Higgs boson particle Empty Re: The buzz about God..well, Higgs boson particle

Post by Guest Thu Jul 05, 2012 9:07 am

another nice link:

http://www.telegraphindia.com/1120705/images/05zzquestionbig.jpg

The buzz about God..well, Higgs boson particle Higgs10

Back to top Go down

The buzz about God..well, Higgs boson particle Empty Re: The buzz about God..well, Higgs boson particle